Eisners Recognize Bongo

Eisners Recognize Bongo

Posted on 04-11-2011

The 2011 Eisner Award Nominations were announced on Thursday, April 7, and Bongo Comics Group was counted among the honorees with 3 nominations, including: Best Short Story (“Bart on the Fourth of July” by Peter Kuper in Bart Simpson #54; Best Humor Publication (Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book by Ian Boothby, John Delaney, and Dan Davis), and Best Writer (Ian Boothby for Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book, Futurama Comics #47-50, Simpsons Comics #162 & #168, Simpsons Super Spectacular #11 & #12).


In “Bart on the Fourth of July,” Springfield’s number one prankster has a senses-shattering adventure when he gets a little too close to an exploding firecracker. Peter Kuper’s stylish depiction of Bart’s brain-numbing experience leaves you just as discombobulated as Bart himself.


From the multiple doom-riddled covers on the first issue to the daring and life-affirming return to the status quo in the last, the 5-part mini-series Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book was the Bongo event of 2010! Ian Boothby outdid himself by recounting “The Death of Comic Book Guy” and, together with penciller John Delaney and inker Dan Davis, proved that mini-series story arcs can be epic, comic, tragic, and just a whole lot of fun along the way.


And we could not be more excited that the Eisner Committee has recognized the versatile comic talents of Ian Boothby, who has been writing “Simpsons” and “Futurama” comics since 1997. It was a banner year for Ian, who saw his classic “Crossover” stories resurrected as a graphic novel collection, his masterpiece Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book hit the shelves, and his stories were published across Bongo’s comic book line. It’s high time that more readers discover Bongo’s long-held secret: Ian Boothby is the Best Writer in humor comics today.


Bongo was also pleased that Abrams ComicArts was recognized for The Simpsons Futurama Crossover Crisis for Best Graphic Album. The long-awaited and beautifully packaged collection, complete with original sketches and pencil designs, a who’s who in comics art gallery, a two-sided die cut slipcase cover, and a facsimile reprint of the 1993 Eisner Award-winning Simpsons Comics #1, was overseen creatively by Bill Morrison and designed by Serban Cristescu in conjunction with Charlie Kochman at Abrams ComicArts. The Simpsons Futurama Crossover Crisis was written by Ian Boothby with art by James Lloyd and Steve Steere Jr.


Bongo Comics Group would like to congratulate all the writers and artists recognized by the Eisner Awards Nomination Committee, but in particular the following contributors and collaborators we have worked with over the years, including: Terry Moore (Echo) for Best Continuing Series and Best Writer/Artist; Mike Allred (iZombie) for Best New Series; Doug TenNapel (Ghostoplis) for Best Publication for Teens and Best Lettering; Lynda Barry (Picture This: The Near-Sighted Monkey Book) for Best Reality-Based Work and Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior); Evan Dorkin & Jill Thompson (Beasts of Burden) for Best Graphic Album-Reprint; Dave Stewart (Hellboy, BPRD, and many more titles) for Best Coloring.


Winners will be announced on the evening of July 22 at the Comic-Con International in San Diego.