Bongo Blog

by Boothby, Kazaleh, Pepoy


After blowing up the Earth…well, actually an Earth-sized fast food restaurant, Fry is sentenced to work off the damages, only to discover that he has a special talent for worldwide fast food delivery techniques in a story we call…”Do You Want Fry with That?”

Advanced Micro Devices Presents the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards— The 23rd annual Eisner Awards, the "Oscars" of the comics industry, will be given out Friday at a gala ceremony at the Indigo Ballroom at the Hilton Bayfront. The master of ceremonies, Bongo Comics' Bill Morrison, will be hosting for his sixth year in a row. Segment hosts include writer/actors Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant (“Reno 911,” Balls of Fury, Night at the Museum) and comedian/voice actor Phil LaMarr (“Futurama,” “Family Guy,” “MadTV”). Presenters include CCI special guests Anina Bennett and Paul Guinan, Walt and Louise Simonson, and Filipino cartoonist (and viral video star) Gerry Alanguilan, as well as Eisner nominees Joe Hill, Gabriel Rodriguez, and Ian Boothby, with many more to be announced. Other prestigious awards to be given out include the Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award, the Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award, the Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Book Writing Award, and the Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award. Admission to the Eisners is free to all Comic-Con attendees––just be sure to bring your badge. Doors open for pro and VIP seating at 7:30 and for attendees at 8:15.

(Indigo Ballroom, Hilton San Diego Bayfront, 8:30-11:30)


Come and cheer on Bongo Comics, nominated for 3 Eisners this year, including: Best Short Story: “Bart on the Fourth of July,” by Peter Kuper, in Bart Simpson #54; Best Humor Publication: Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book by Ian Boothby, John Delaney, and Dan Davis; and Best Writer: Ian Boothby, Comic Book Guy: The Comic Book, Futurama Comics #47–50, Simpsons Comics #162, 168, and Simpsons Super Spectacular #11–12. Also nominated for Best Graphic Album–Reprint is Bongo’s masterpiece, The Simpsons/Futurama Crossover Crisis, by Matt Groening, Ian Boothby, James Lloyd, and Steve Steere Jr., published by Abrams Comicarts.


  • Previous Page
  • 8   of   12
  • Previous Page